The Double Deuce.

Long have I been inspired by the great Swayze Classic “Road House”. How cool would it be to walk into a bar and have Jeff Healey announce from the stage, “The name is Bewley”.

Now I would gladly fill the rest of this post with my treatise on Road House being Patrick Swayze’s greatest movie, but actually I am using it as a segue to our decision not to have live music at Alewife Queens. 5-14 51st Ave has had its share of bands play its sand-filled stage in the past and many I have met remember the shows fondly.

A general life philosophy that I like to bring to Alewife is, ‘if you are going to go to the trouble of doing something, might as well do it well.’ And what we do well at Alewife is drinks, food and environment. We focus on these and put all we have into them. This overlaps a bit with some sage wisdom my mother gave me, “Keep it Simple Stupid’.

If we were to do live music here at Alewife Queens we would do it well, but to simply tape it on to the edge of the services we provide just to say we have it wouldn’t serve our patrons, the space or the musicians.

In one conversation I was having with a neighbor about whether we would be having live music I said, “I would much rather go to a bar or venue that does music well, enjoy the show, then come back here for drinks and food after.”

Having said that, nothing is written in stone and to have or not have live music is a location to location decision. Alewife Baltimore has many staff that are very musically inclined and is a great space for the music. Down there they are doing their due diligence to start up Wednesday Nights as their live music night.

The name is Dalton.

As a Post Script to this post; I went to IMDB to double check the Jeff Healey quote and am very tempted to do a series of Alewife T-Shirts with Road House Quotes on them. Seriously, they are amazing.

Try this one from Dalton himself:

    People who really want to have a good time won’t come to a slaughterhouse. And we’ve got entirely too many troublemakers here. Too many 40-year-old adolescents, felons, power drinkers and trustees of modern chemistry.